Is Sturgeon Caviar Kosher?

Last updated on February 23rd, 2023 at 10:09 am

Featured Image Source

Kosher food is food that Jews are permitted to eat as per the dietary laws and rules of their religion. A question arises on whether sturgeon caviar (eggs of the sturgeon fish) is kosher or not.

The answer is no! Most rabbinic bodies do not consider sturgeon caviar kosher because its scales cannot be removed without removing the skin.

Is sturgeon kosher conservative?

If you follow the Jewish faith and want to eat caviar, then you would like to know if sturgeon is conservative. Can you consume sturgeon and sturgeon caviar?

To know the answer, you need to understand a few facts:

  • As per Jewish religious laws, a fish product is kosher if it is from a fish with fins and scales.
  • All true sturgeon do not have scales on their body.
  • While sturgeon fish have scales, the kosher laws specify that it is kosher if the scales can be removed without cutting the skin.
  • Some fish can have the scale removed while cleaning without damaging the skin. Such fish are considered kosher and their products like caviar also kosher.
  • The sturgeon kosher has scales that cannot be removed without damaging the skin of the fish. This is why it is not considered kosher.
  • Caviar is the roe made from eggs of the sturgeon. Since the sturgeon is not kosher, sturgeon caviar is also not kosher.

Is white sturgeon caviar kosher?

The white sturgeon has scales that are known as ganoid. The ganoid scales are tough, do not overlap, and cannot be scrapped without removing the skin of the sturgeon.

As per Jewish rules, this makes the white sturgeon not kosher. Hence, its eggs or caviar is also not kosher.

Kosher caviar list

A list of kosher caviar is given below:

  • Bowfin caviar.
  • Pink salmon roe.
  • Alaskan keta salmon roe.
  • Black whitefish caviar.
  • Golden whitefish caviar.
  • French Bottarga caviar.

What types of caviar are kosher?

Salmon caviar is considered kosher. Since salmon is kosher, its roe is also considered kosher and can be eaten.

Is osetra caviar kosher?

Osetra caviar is one of the most expensive caviars in the market. It is obtained from the Ossetra sturgeon fish.

Osetra, Kaluga, and Sevrgua sturgeon fish are true sturgeon fish that do not have scales. As per kosher laws, fish without scales and fins are not kosher.

Is there a kosher caviar?

Unfortunately, true caviar is not kosher since the sturgeon fish from which it is obtained is not kosher.

However, there are many fish that are considered kosher. Caviar from these fish are kosher and can be eaten by Jews.

The fish include:

  • Anchovies
  • Bowfin
  • Carp
  • Cod
  • Herring
  • Mackerel
  • Salmon
  • Trout
  • Whitefish

Kosher caviar near me

You can get kosher caviar, which is obtained from fish that is kosher. All you need to do is search for kosher caviar near me.

You will get the best websites with the list of kosher caviar available for sale. You can buy kosher caviar and enjoy it.

Is sturgeon kosher fish?

Sturgeon is not considered kosher for the following reasons:

  • True sturgeon does not have scales. As per kosher laws, fish without scales is kosher.
  • Some sturgeon fish have scales. But the problem is that these scales should be removed without removing the skin.
  • Sturgeon fish scales cannot be removed without removing the skin. As a result sturgeon fish is not kosher.

Is black caviar kosher?

Black caviar is obtained from the Sturgeon fish. The true sturgeon fish species do not have scales.

As per kosher laws, fish without scales is not kosher. Hence, fish product made from such fish is also not kosher.

Black caviar is thus not considered kosher. Those who strictly follow religious laws and kosher dietary laws are not allowed to eat black caviar.

Black Caviar Kosher in a Bowl

Image source

Why can’t Jews eat sturgeon?

To answer this question, it is important to understand the principle of kosher. The term kosher refers to food that complies with Jewish law.

While not all Jews follow kosher, most of them follow it. They follow it not because it prescribes dietary rules but because of respect for their religious tradition.

Kosher laws outline the foods that are allowed and those not allowed. The laws also explain how foods that are allowed should be cooked or prepared.

When it comes to fish, as per Jewish laws fish that has scales and fins are kosher. All such fish can be consumed.

Fish that do not have scales may not be eaten. But there is a rule here.

If the scales of the fish can be removed without removing the skin, then it is considered kosher.

Real sturgeon do not have scales. Hence, it is not kosher.

The ganoid scales of sturgeon species cannot be removed without removing the skin. Hence, all sturgeon is not considered kosher.

Is salmon caviar kosher?

True caviar is made from sturgeon. Since sturgeon is not kosher, any product made from sturgeon including its eggs is not kosher.

Salmon caviar has become very popular and is a replacement for true caviar. Salmon is considered kosher and hence its caviar is also kosher.

Salmon roe (caviar) is a popular food. It is also rich in nutrients making it a very good food to consume.

Those who follow kosher rules eat salmon caviar since it is allowed and also has health benefits.

Salmon Caviar Kosher

Image source

FAQs relating to is sturgeon caviar kosher

If you want to know whether sturgeon caviar is kosher, then you can go through the FAQs presented below.

Is sturgeon kosher in Israel?

As is known, Israel is a country where the Jew faith is predominantly followed. Jews strictly do not eat food that is not kosher.

As per kosher laws, sturgeon is fish without scales. Hence, it is not kosher.

Some sturgeon fishes have ganoid scales. These scales cannot be removed without removing the skin of the fish.

As a result, all sturgeon is considered not kosher. Hence, most people in Israel who strictly follow tradition do not eat sturgeon.

Does a sturgeon have scales?

It is very interesting to know about the sturgeon and its scales. Sturgeon fish have lived on earth for more than 200 million years.

True sturgeons do not have scales. Many people think that the fish has scales, but the scales are not real.

There is a smooth layer of skin for the sturgeon on which there are five rows of bony plates. These resemble scales but are armors protecting the sturgeon for predators in the waters.

The scales found on the sturgeon are known as the ganoid scales. They are protective in nature.

When the sturgeon has to be eaten and the scales removed, it cannot be done without removing the skin.

This is why as per Kosher laws, the sturgeon is not considered to be kosher.

Sturgeon Fish

Image source

Why is sturgeon halal?

As per Jewish religious law, sturgeon is not considered kosher. The question then is whether sturgeon is considered halal under Islamic laws.

If it is considered halal, then it can be consumed by Muslims without any problems. Conservative Muslims do not eat any food that is not halal.

There are different schools of Islam and the views can differ. The liberal Islamic schools (mostly Sunni) allow the consumption of all seafood.

Koran 5:96 permits the catch of the sea as food. Stricter schools do not consider all aquatic animals as halal, but fish are considered halal.

Shiites follow the same rules as Jews and consider only fish with scales as halal. So, they do not consider sturgeon as halal.

Except for the Shiites, most other Muslims permit caviar to be eaten considering it halal.

But even in Iran, things changed in 1983. The Iranian supremo Ayatollah Khomeini issued a religious edict (fatwa) that termed sturgeon as halal.   

Sturgeon and caviar thus became halal. Its consumption drastically increased in Iran.

While earlier, people would not eat caviar but exported it. Post the edict, the stock of fish started to dwindle – such was the demand.

Why is tilapia not kosher?

Tilapia is a popular fish that is consumed as seafood. In the United States, it is the fourth most consumed seafood.

Tilapia is also considered good to eat because it is nutritious. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3 fatty acids, and many other minerals.

There are different species of Tilapia available in the market. A dilemma for followers of the Jewish faith is whether Tilapia is kosher and can be consumed.

To answer this question, we need to look at whether tilapia has scales and fins.

A problem here is that not all Tilapia are real tilapia. There are many species of fish that are called tilapia and these are not kosher.

Key takeaways

  • Sturgeon caviar is considered not kosher since the sturgeon fish is not kosher.
  • As per Jewish laws, kosher fish are those without scales and fins.
  • True sturgeon have no scales and hence sturgeon caviar is not kosher.
  • Even those sturgeon species with scales are not kosher because the scales cannot be removed without removing the skin.
  • There are kosher fish like salmon, bowfin, and whitefish, and their caviar is kosher. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *